Personal tools

You are here: Home / UCDAR Consortium

UCDAR Background


The UC Davis Arab Region (UCDAR) Consortium is a partnership between UC Davis and 5 international universities in the Arab region: American University of Beirut (AUB), the American University in Cairo (AUC), the American University of Sharjah (AUS), Birzeit University, and Lebanese American University (LAU). The UCDAR Consortium is housed in Global Affairs at the University of California, Davis. The Consortium pursues interdisciplinary collaborative research, faculty and student exchanges, teaching, and university activities across all disciplines.   Current Projects include: Mapping Knowledge Production of Women & Gender in the Arab region; Gendering STEM Education; Water-Energy-Food Nexus; and the Sustainability Research and Training Program (SRTP).  

The Consortium was founded in 2001 and is chaired by Dr. Suad Joseph, Distinguished Professor, Anthropology and Gender, Sexuality & Women’s Studies, at UC Davis.  

The UCDAR Consortium was formalized in March 2007, with an agreement signed by the Presidents, Chancellors, and Provosts of the partner universities in Cairo.  The agreement was renewed in 2012 for two years and again in 2014 for five years. In 2015, the American University of Sharjah joined as the sixth member of the Consortium and the Consortium agreement was updated and extended to 2020.

The UCDAR Consortium was previously called the BCBCB Consortium, referring to the first letter of each of the locations of first five university partners (Beirut, Cairo, Beirut, California, Birzeit). In April, 2017 the names was changed to fully reflect the identity and value of this collaboration.  "Dar" means house in Arabic. The new name reflects the Consortium members coming together under a shared roof.

At UC Davis, UCDAR is housed within Global Affairs.


Chancellors, Presidents and Steering Committee members at a UCDAR Steering Committee meeting in Dubai in October of 2015.  

Back row from left to right: Khaled Assaleh, Fuad Hashwa, Joanna Rogulska, Chancellor Bjorn Kjerfve, Suad Joseph, Chancellor Linda Katehi, Henry Jaqaman, Provost Sherif Sedky, Faris Saeed, Nawar Golley, Hala Muhtasib, Mr. Saeed.  Front row from left to right: Tim Rogmans, President Joseph Jabbra, Bryan Jenkins, Wassim Adlouni, President Abdul Latif Abu Hijleh, Dave Lawlor, Ehab Abdel-Rahman, Emile Samarah, Phil Dunn.

This is Sliced Diazo Plone Theme